YOUTH EMPLOYMENT IN AGRICULTURE PROGRAMME (YEAP)

ACHIEVING YOUTH EMPLOYMENT FOR NAGROPRENUERS: THE 21ST CENTURY APPROACH BY A 21ST CENTURY DYNAMIC AGRICULTURE MINISTER.      BY COMRADE OGIRINYE INNOCENT 08077686333.

L-R DR. EZEKIEL ONYEMOMI (Permanent Secretary), DR. ADESINA AKINWUMI (Hon. Minister) and DR. BUKAR TIJANI (Hon. Minister of State) of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Abuja.

It was a historic moment that marks the end of the old bureaucracy; it signifies the redefinition of a path in our National history as well as the beginning of a new chapter for teeming Nigerian Youths in Agricultural sector. On Thursday the 20th to Friday the 21st September 2012 witnessed the gathering of over a hundred stakeholders from different academic and professional background who converged at the instance of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Abuja for a Technical workshop for the Design of the Presidential Initiative for Youth Employment in Agriculture with a caption: ACHIEVING YOUTH EMPLOYMENT FOR NAGROPRENUERS. The participants at this event were mostly Nigerian Youths cutting across diverse professions especially those from the Agricultural discipline to say what they want and in what best format they want it. It was indeed a programme of the Youth, for the youth and by the youth as the young participants under the guidance of few older stakeholders in the sector (who were there to sharpened their ideals for sustainability) suggested how best their lack of interest in Agriculture can be revived and sustained. The identified problems militating against Youth participation in Agriculture along which the thematic session for the workshop were formed was not designed by the Ministry, it was done by some few Youth leaders who formed the National Steering Committee for the Youth Employment in Agriculture Programme (YEAP), this I was opportune to be a member and which was set up devoid of politics.

This  is the first time in our recent past  that the Beneficiaries of a policy were given the chance to say what their challenges are and how best the problems can be solved with a keen interest from the man who holds the pen.

The Honourable Minister of Agriculture, the Minister of State for Agriculture, the Permanent Secretary and several other top functionaries in the Agricultural sector were among the audience listening to the young dynamic, creative and innovative Nigerian Youths present the ideal solutions to their problems as rightly identified by their colleagues at the Steering Committee. What a show of humility, passion for result, and I  dare ask: how many Ministers today will take their seat at the back and see  the younger ones suggest to them what they want and how they want it?

I  saw at the extreme end of the audience seats, two dynamic 21st century Ministers of Agriculture, with a 21st century bureaucracy to address the 21st century challenges of Nigeria using their sector.

The Honourable Minister of Agriculture  in his opening and closing remarks reiterated his commitment to achieving the Agricultural Transformation Agenda, he emphasized that the era of old age farmers need to be over, that  subsistence agriculture has to give way to  youth driven commercial Agriculture and our hard Naira currency use on food importation has to be redistributed among our farmers, enough is enough for the continue stay of  our youth on the street of joblessness while we keep the youths of the countries where we do our food import out of  street. To him the time for the over haul of Nigeria Agriculture can not be better than now and Agriculture must be treated as business and no more a developmental project.

In his speech and actions, I see a passionate commitment to achieve results instead of the usual politics,  behind a smile of fine gentle man, I see hope for Nigerian youths, I see a future for Agricultural graduates to be proud of their profession again, to say to the entire world I am a NAGROPRENEURE. He is a stakeholder whose voice represents the voices and language of the Youths. The aspirations of new Nigeria where food security and Youth employment will be guarantee through Agriculture. To many fellow youths that I interacted with at the workshop he is an inspiration to them, he drives the vision of Youth Initiative for Sustainable Agriculture (YISA), my dream and to me a role model.

Among several solutions suggested by the youths ranging from Improved Access to land, Credits, Educational support for future Agricultural Scientist, Youth farm Rehabilitation, Include youth in Input Production, Research and Development, Rural Infrastructure, the Improved Access to land thematic session advocates for Retirement Age from the Farm Cities to be set up to pave way for continues youth participation in Farming.

The workshop was not just an opportunity for youths to say what they want,  it was also an opportunity for Youth –In – Agriculture and other related Organizations and individuals to share their experiences, ideals and networked for other mutual and enhanced participation in  the Agricultural value chain. Youth Initiative for Sustainable Agriculture (YISA) was not left out in the entire process.

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by MR LATEEF on May 6, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    GOOD DAY SIR , HOW DO I JOIN THE YISA OPPORTUNITY. AND HOW TO BE CAME A MEMBER OF NIGERIA AGRICULTURE COOPERATIVE AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT. THANKS

    Reply

  2. Posted by YISA National Coordinator on May 18, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Mr. Lateef, thanks for your interest in YISA, to start with let us know your present location. For now we are operational in 13 States of Nigeria and FCT.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Miss Rachael on June 2, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    I love this innitiative cause it’s 1st of its kind. Pls how can I join , I’m presently in Abuja? Thankyou sir.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Adeyemi Hassan A on June 6, 2013 at 9:45 am

    Good day sir. How do i join the YISA program. Am in Ogun state

    Reply

    • Posted by National Coordinator-YISA on June 19, 2013 at 8:27 am

      Dear Adeyemi, we are working on establishing a branch of YISA in Ogun State. I shall keep you updated on the progress.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Salihu omeiza abdulrazaq on June 23, 2013 at 8:33 am

    Am an indegene of Kogi State residing presently in Kaduna State. Please how can i join YISA?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ujinge N. John on July 25, 2013 at 11:31 am

    This is a brilliant initiative, how do i join YISA. I am from Benue State and currently in Makurdi.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Ayodeji O. on September 1, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Hi, I am just hearing about this initiative think it’s very nice but I need more information on it, how to join and participate in it. I leave in Osun state and my mail is damilola88@gmail.com. I will appreciate it if details of how to join is forwarded to my mail box. Thank you

    Reply

  8. On behalf of Blue Royale Integrated , we at BRI really fall in love with this initiative, we re based in Ibadan oyo state. how do we join? you can write us at services@bril.com.ng . Regards

    Reply

  9. Posted by Chukwu kenneth on September 4, 2013 at 9:19 am

    Pls how can i be part of the YISA opportunities? I live in Enugu state.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Afolabi Abiodun Marcus on October 28, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    Welldone Sir, I will like to be a member of this program. Pls how will I get your contact

    Reply

  11. Posted by Afolabi Abiodun Marcus on October 28, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    Welldone Sir, I will like to be a member of this program. Pls how will I get your contact. I live in Ibadan, Oyo state. and my mail address is Biormarcus@ymail.com thanks

    Reply

  12. Posted by GBENGA AKINPELU on October 29, 2013 at 5:42 am

    I Like D Program.I Stay In Ibadan.I Do Not Mind If You Can Link Me Up.Thanks

    Reply

  13. Posted by Adegoke Adekunle on October 31, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    Hi, I am just hearing about this initiative think it’s very nice but I need more information on it, how to join and participate in it. I leave in Oyo state, Ibadan. my mail is zzkunle@yahoo.co.uk I will appreciate it if details of how to join is forwarded to my mail box. Thank you

    Reply

  14. Posted by ojebola oladele on November 3, 2013 at 7:06 am

    i luv this prog,hw can i b amember?am in oyo state,precisely in saki.thanks

    Reply

  15. Posted by ADEYEMO MUHYDEEN ADEBAYO on November 4, 2013 at 11:50 am

    I’m in Ibadan,please mail me on adeyemo2009211@yahoo.com,I want to join the initiative.Thank you very much sir.

    Reply

  16. Posted by ADEYEMO MUHYDEEN ADEBAYO on November 4, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    Please forward how I can join the initiative to my e~mail,adeyemo2009211@yahoo.com.I’m in Ibadan and I want to join the initiative.Thank you very much sir.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Kinddly assist also pls i like to join YISA.israel_balogun@yahoo.co.uk on November 6, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    Pls i also need assistant in joining so as to promote d agricultural sector.

    Reply

  18. May God bless Oyo State

    Reply

  19. How can I join the programme

    Reply

  20. How can I join the programme.

    Reply

  21. Posted by David Temitope E. on November 12, 2013 at 2:53 am

    This is a great initiative. This is what all youths has been craving for. We need to support one another so as to be the future leader we often talked about. My email in passion4change@gmail.com. Please kindly hint me on how to be part of this great initiative. Thank you

    Reply

  22. Posted by Igbokwe Emmanuel on March 5, 2014 at 8:50 am

    It’s a nice initiative and I believe it’s still on pls how do I join I’m in Kuje area council of Abuja

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

